A Night At the…Groucho / Music Night

20th May 2016

Tuesday 31 May, 7pm

A Night At The… present intimate songwriter showcases, amalgamating some of the best talent that the music industry has to offer, with the latest up and coming artists.

This event will host one of the strongest acoustic line-ups that you are likely to find anywhere away from the stage of a famous festival, and it’s free for Groucho members and privileged guests!

Chris Difford:

Chris is a founding member, singer and songwriter for the legendary British band Squeeze, who (along with his band mates Glenn Tilbrook and Jools Holland) recorded classic albums such as Cool for Cats and East Side Story. Squeeze’s meteoric success with hit songs such as Up the Junction, Cool for Cats and Tempted, rapidly extended to America, where their tours included performances at New York’s Madison Square Garden. Chris has also written songs with artists such as Elvis Costello, Elton John, Wet Wet Wet and in 2008 received an Ivor Novello Award for his Outstanding Contribution to British Music.


Teddy Thompson:

Called ‘one of the most gifted singer-songwriters of his generation’ by The New York Times, Teddy Thompson is a British singer-songwriter, who lives in New York. Born into folk royalty (the son of singer-songwriter Richard and Linda Thompson) Teddy has toured with Rosanne Cash’s band, collaborated with good friends Rufus and Martha Wainwright and contributed songs to major motion pictures such as Brokeback Mountain.


Kathryn Williams:


Kathryn Williams is a critically acclaimed singer and songwriter from Liverpool, who has written, recorded and toured with artists including with artists including Chris Difford, John Martyn, david Gray, Damien Rice and Ray LaMontage. Her debut album, Dog Leaps Stairs, was nominated for the Mercury Prize.


RM Hubbert:

One of Glasgow’s most prolific artists, RM Hubbert has released music under a variety of guises since 1993. He has toured extensively with acts such as Franz Ferdinand, Mogwai, Nick Cave, King Creosote and his second solo album (recorded with Franz Ferdinand frontman Alex Kapranos) won the Scottish Album of the Year Award 2013, beating albums by Emil Sande, Calvin Harris, Django and The Twilight Sad.


Members click here.